Trinity supports ATA’s callout to Congress on telehealth issue

ID-100150845Due to recent updates to the federal delineations of Standards Metropolitan Statistical Areas (SMAs), Medicare beneficiaries in 97 counties, encompassing 36 states, are tapped to lose their telehealth benefits. The new federal urban/rural categorization effectively eliminates the option for Medicare beneficiaries to receive healthcare services via videoconferencing.

An added complication to the issue is a lack of telehealth coverage for those beneficiaries residing in metropolitan areas, which affects a staggering 80% of the recipient population, totaling hundreds of thousands of people. “When it comes to telemedicine, Congress has long overlooked the need for telemedicine services to residents of urban counties, despite the fact that they often suffer similar problems accessing healthcare. Now, because of a statistical quirk, even more people will lose coverage of these services, reducing access and care,” said Jonathan Linkous, CEO of the American Telemedicine Association. “Medicare should cover remote health services for all beneficiaries, regardless of location. We call on Congress to ensure that existing beneficiaries will not lose coverage for these services.” John Jennings, AVP/CTO at Trinity Video Communications, agrees. “This is an unfortunate situation that directly impacts the delivery of health services to a population that desperately needs it. Trinity fully supports any effort put forth by the American Telemedicine Association to address Congress on this important issue.”

Counties affected in the realignment:

Counties to lose Medicare Telehealth benefits:

  • Alabama: Pickens County
  • Arizona: Cochise County
  • Arkansas: Little River County
  • Connecticut: Windham County
  • Delaware: Sussex County
  • Florida: Citrus County, Gulf County, Highlands County, Sumter County, Walton County
  • Georgia: Lincoln County, Morgan County, Peach County, Pulaski County
  • Hawaii: Kalawao County, Maui County
  • Idaho: Butte County
  • Illinois: De Witt County, Jackson County, Williamson County
  • Indiana: Scott County
  • Iowa: Plymouth County
  • Kansas: Kingman County
  • Kentucky: Allen County, Butler County
  • Louisiana: Iberia Parish, St. James Parish, Tangipahoa Parish, Vermilion Parish, Webster Parish
  • Maryland: St. Mary’s County, Worcester County
  • Michigan: Midland County, Montcalm County
  • Minnesota: Fillmore County, Le Sueur County, Mille Lacs County, Sibley County
  • Mississippi: Benton County, Yazoo County
  • Montana: Golden Valley County
  • Nebraska: Hall County, Hamilton County, Howard County, Merrick County
  • New York: Jefferson County, Yates County
  • North Carolina: Craven County, Davidson County, Gates County, Iredell County, Jones County, Lincoln County, Pamlico County, Rowan County
  • North Dakota: Oliver County, Sioux County
  • Oregon: Josephine County, Linn County
  • Pennsylvania: Adams County, Columbia County, Franklin County, Monroe County, Montour County
  • Puerto Rico: Utuado Municipio
  • South Carolina: Beaufort County, Chester County, Jasper County, Lancaster County, Union County
  • South Dakota: Custer County
  • Tennessee: Campbell County, Crockett County, Maury County, Morgan County, Roane County
  • Texas: Falls County, Hood County, Hudspeth County, Lynn County, Martin County, Newton County, Oldham County
  • Utah: Box Elder County
  • Virginia: Augusta County, Buckingham County, Culpeper County, Floyd County, Staunton City, Waynesboro City
  • Washington: Columbia County, Pend Oreille County, Stevens County, Walla Walla County
  • West Virginia: Fayette County, Raleigh County
  • Wisconsin: Green County

Counties to gain Medicare Telehealth Benefits:

  • Idaho: Power County
  • Indiana: Franklin County, Gibson County, Greene County
  • Kansas: Franklin County
  • Kentucky: Nelson County
  • Massachusetts: Franklin County
  • Michigan: Ionia County
  • Mississippi: George County, Stone County
  • Missouri: Howard County, Washington County
  • North Carolina: Anson County, Greene County
  • Ohio: Erie County
  • Tennessee: Stewart County
  • Texas: Calhoun County, Delta County, McLennan County
  • Utah: Summit County
  • Virginia: Cumberland County, King and Queen County, Louisa County, Pittsylvania County, Danville City
  • West Virginia: Morgan County, Pleasants County

If your organization is seeking a high-quality, high-tech solution for providing accessible healthcare services, then consider Trinity’s Touchscreen Mobile Telemedicine Station and Mobile Responder products. These units are designed to work in any healthcare environment and include features such as easy-to-use touchscreen interfaces, high-definition cameras and antibacterial work surfaces.

Visit our Healthcare Solutions page for more details on Trinity’s Mobile Telemedicine Station and Mobile Responder products. Or, contact us today at 1-800-261-9008 to schedule a demonstration at your location or at our Louisville, Kentucky or Sterling, Virginia offices.


Empower To Power On

Welcome to a More Dynamic Future

Notice something different? Trinity Video Communications is now Trinity Dynamics.
Same trusted company, but with a name that captures our passion, pioneering spirit and enhanced capabilities.